Longlist for Thamesmead Waterfront Masterplanning competition announced

Share this article

The successful team(s) will play an important role in masterplanning the 250 acre site in South-East London which has the capacity for thousands of new homes and significant commercial and leisure space, set amongst lakes, ample green space and over a mile of undeveloped river frontage.


The 10 longlisted teams, formed of over 100 firms and individuals, will meet with the Joint Venture this month to introduce their teams and discuss their submissions in more detail, before five teams are shortlisted to progress to Stage 2 of the competition.


Stage 2 will see further interviews and discussions with members of the Joint Venture Board and a panel of partners who will be working closely with Peabody and Lendlease on the project. 


John Lewis, Peabody’s Executive Director Thamesmead, said: “We are delighted with the response to this hugely exciting opportunity. The quality of thinking behind each submission was incredibly high, and we’ve enjoyed discussing some wonderfully innovative approaches to the opportunities and challenges that this special project presents. We are grateful to everybody who took the time to make a submission. All of the teams we’ve selected have demonstrated a really strong commitment to working collaboratively with Thamesmead’s communities to create a fantastic place for the future.”


Bek Seeley, Managing Director of Development for Lendlease in Europe, said:

“Our longlisted teams’ submissions explored a range of themes and displayed great enthusiasm and passion for Thamesmead. They all clearly share our high ambitions for what can be achieved, and have thoughtfully considered the opportunities and challenges of the Waterfront. The assessment panel were really impressed with their creativity, design leadership skills and their ability to conceive something truly extraordinary for this project. We’re really looking forward to discussing the approaches further and sharing their plans when we get to the shortlisting stage.”


The competition was run by Colander Associates and the final announcement will be made in March.


The longlist

Team Lead(s)

Location of Lead Consultant(s)

Team Members

Allies and Morrison


Jas Bhalla Architects; SLA; Ramboll; Montagu Evans; and Frances Holliss

BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group and dRMM

UK and Danish origins

Buro Happold, Gehl; LDA Design; Nigel Dunnett Studio; Gardiner & Theobald; Groundwork; Architecture Doing Place; Bell Phillips Architects; Erect Architecture; YOU & ME; Quality of Life Foundation; and Plan A Consultants.



Mica Architects; Sohoko; Architecture 00; Momentum; Daniel Hill; Quod; Beacon Partnership; JLL; WT Partnership; Soundings; Thomas Mathews; Lionheart; The Centric Lab; Dark Matter Labs; Living Space Project; Hatch Regeneris; McGregor Coxall; Hortus Collective; Ecosulis; Useful Projects; Umbrellium; Hoare Lee; Campbell Reith; and Buro Happold

HTA Design


Tonkin Liu; AR-Urbanism; Ullmayer Sylvester; Kristofer Adelaide Architecture; The Young Foundation; Poor Collective; Beyond the Box; Nigel Dunnett; Green Infrastructure; Waterman; Steer; and Buro Happold

Karakusevic Carson Architects


Witherford Watson Mann; Stoss Landscape Architects; ORG Permanent Modernity; Assemble; Studio ONB; Creative Giants; Sahra Hersi; Kathryn Firth; Max Fordham; Lichfields; and London Wildlife Trust

Prior + Partners


Arup; West 8; The Place Bureau; Alison Brooks Architects; Turner Works; Marc Koehler Architects; JA Projects; Schulze+Grassov; Soundings; and Sage Culture



Urban Place Lab; BoschSlabbers; Farrer Huxley; The Green Infrastructure Consultancy and Stantec

Studio Egret West and Cobe

UK and Denmark

Dark Matter Labs; Studio Weave; Freehaus Design; Yinka Ilori Studio; AKT II; Hilson Moran; and Biomatrix Water

Urban Orchestra led by Tibbalds Planning and Urban Design, Mikhail Riches, Haptic and Expedition


Create Culture; Gardiner & Theobald; Gibson Thornley; GS Solutions; Innovation First; Kjellander Sjöberg; LOLA; Madeleine Kessler Architects; Mary Duggan Architects; Nick Elias Studio; Nordic – Office of Architecture; William Matthews Architects; and ZCD Architects

White Arkitekter


Publica; Tredje Natur; Central Saint Martins; Public Works; Bohn & Viljoen; Buro Happold; GL Hearn; and Aurora